Mercury Prize 2015 Nominations


The Mercury Prize for ‘Albums of the Year’, in association with BBC Music, celebrates and promotes the best of UK music. The shortlist provides a snapshot of this years music, recognising artistic achievement across a range of genres…


Aphex TwinSyro

Syro is the sixth album that Richard D. James has recorded under the name Aphex Twin. It is the Cornishman’s first album in 13 years and secured a top 10 chart position in the UK when released by Warp Records in September 2014. Syro won a Grammy in 2015 and was number one in the Billboard Dance/Electronic Albums chart. Click here to read our review.


Benjamin ClementineAt Least for Now

At Least for Now is the debut album by Benjamin Clementine, who was raised in Edmonton, North London and later relocated to Paris. The album, recorded at RAK Studios, London and produced by Clementine and Jonathan Quarmby, includes the singles Condolence and Cornerstone. It was released by Virgin EMI Records in March 2015.


C DuncanArchitect

Architect is the first album by Glasgow’s Christopher Duncan, a former student of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. The album was self-recorded by Duncan at his home studio in Glasgow. Architect, featuring cover art painted by Duncan, was released by FatCat Records in July 2015 and includes the singles Say and For.


Eska Eska

Eska Mtungwazi grew up in Lewisham, South London and was a student at The Conservatoire in Blackheath. Eska, her debut album, was released in April 2015 on Naim Edge. The album, produced by Eska, along with Matthew Herbert, Louis Hackett and David Okumu, includes the single Shades of Blue.


Florence + The Machine How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful

How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful is Florence + The Machine’s third album and features the singles What Kind of Man and Ship to Wreck. The number one album was produced by Markus Dravs (Björk, Arcade Fire) with contributions from Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon and John Hill. It was released in June 2015 on Island Records.


Gaz CoombesMatador

Matador is the second solo album by former Supergrass frontman Gaz Coombes. The album, which includes contributions from Ride’s Loz Colbert, was released in January 2015 on Hot Fruit Recordings. The self-produced album was recorded at his home and at Courtyard Studios in Oxford. It features the singles Buffalo and 20/20Click here to read our review.


Ghostpoet Shedding Skin

Shedding Skin is the third album by Londoner, Obaro Ejimiwe, otherwise known as Ghostpoet. The album includes several guest vocalists, including Lucy Rose, Nadine Shah and Maximo Park frontman Paul Smith. It was released on Play It Again Sam in March 2015 and includes the singles X Marks the Spot and Off Peak Dreams.


Jamie xxIn Colour

In Colour is Jamie xx’s debut solo album. The self-produced album was recorded at his studio in East London and released on Young Turks in June 2015. The album includes vocal contributions from fellow members of The xx, Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim. It features the singles Gosh and I Know There’s Gonna Be (Good Times).


Róisín Murphy Hairless Toys

Hairless Toys is the third album by Róisín Murphy, born in County Wicklow, Ireland. Murphy, formerly of Sheffield-based duo Moloko, recorded the album with producer and long-time musical collaborator Eddie Stevens. The album was released on Play It Again Sam in May 2015 and includes the singles Exploitation and Evil Eyes.


Slaves Are You Satisfied?

Slaves are Kent-based duo Laurie Vincent and Isaac Holman. Are You Satisfied? is their debut album and was released in June 2015 on Virgin EMI Records. Produced by Jolyon Thomas and recorded in London and Manchester, the top 10 album includes the singles Hey and The Hunter. Click here to read our review.


SOAK Before We Forgot How To Dream

SOAK is 18 year old Belfast born, Derry raised singer songwriter Bridie Monds-Watson. Before We Forgot How To Dream, her debut album, was recorded in Donegal and produced by Tommy McLaughlin from Villagers. Released on Rough Trade Records in June 2015, it includes the singles B a noBody and Blud.


Wolf Alice My Love is Cool

Wolf Alice are Ellie Rowsell, Theo Ellis, Joff Oddie and Joel Amey. My Love is Cool, their debut album, was recorded in North London and produced by Mike Crossey. It was released in June 2015 on Dirty Hit Records and features the singles Giant Peach and Bros. Click here to read our review.